Tuesday, 6 July, 2021: Cross words about crosswords

Puzzle On Word Games, Inc | Daily Puzzles | Mobile Apps | Video Games |  Syndication
YAY PUZZLES! I do them every week. How about you?

Okay, full disclosure: there weren’t actually any cross words, it just made for a catchy title.

Once a month, we run contests on our social media channels giving away a fun gadget.  Most of the time, participants just have to comment and answer a question, but sometimes we do something more interesting.

This time the decision is to create a “crossword” puzzle, and CK sends me social media banner text to proofread.

The example image she shows me/the designer is like so:

Word Search Puzzles

This leads to a discussion in which I explain that that is a wordsearch. I then have to prove it by showing her something like this:

Word Search vs. Crossword: Similarities and Differences! - Gamesver

And then? And then I see her make the request to the designer/other content writer, calling it both a wordsearch AND a crossword. Later, I see that the other content writer provided text that also called it a wordsearch. Sigh.

It’s always amazing what things you think are obvious turn out not to be… but then with this specifically, I am someone who enjoys word puzzles…

Thoughts?