I mostly prefer to stick to fiction, so I admit I haven’t read many autobiographies – I think this one makes a total of four, with the others being James Acaster, Tom Allen and Michael McIntyre. I own Lee Evans’ book, but I’ve had it for years and not gotten around to it yet… you know how TBR piles can be.

I confess: I chose the first two, and specifically chose the audiobook, because I like their voices. And speaking of audiobooks, I have one gripe with Mr Harris – the fact that this book comes in audiobook format intrigues me as to how it works and I am now very tempted to buy it. I object! I’m not someone who buys the same book twice!

In the spirit of Choose Your Own, I now invite you to choose your own end to this review:

If you’d like to finish on a positive note, go to number 1.

If you’d like to read a negative point (why?), go to number 2.

If you’d like to read a conclusion, go to number 3.

  1. Good choice! It’s nice to be positive. I loved the creativity of the format for an autobiography, and it made me nostalgic for the Choose Your Own Adventure books I read as a child. That said though, I’m glad it’s fairly obvious which parts aren’t true so it doesn’t veer too far from being a proper autobiography.
  2. I actually don’t have much negative to say. However, while I can usually forgive the odd typo, they do not belong in a book like this. There’s at least one place where “turn to page X” had the wrong number, and there’s one page that no other page leads to. (It doesn’t affect one’s enjoyment of the book, but it’s a shame.)
  3. If you’d like to learn more about the actor you may also only know as Barney Stinson and/or Doogie Howser, this is a great way to learn more about him and his family, the acting roles you may have never realized he had, his theatre career, and – as in any autobiography – a few nuggets of wisdom that really make you think.

In a word? I thought it was legen-wait for it-dary!

Thoughts?