To Have a Favourite, or Not to Have a Favourite?

Who’s your favourite author? Singer? Director?

Most people can answer these questions. Whoever the answer it is, it means that they sit on their edge of their seats, waiting for the stroke of midnight when they can finally get their hands on the latest offering.

Is anyone else not like that? If I happen to like several books by the same person, it’s probably one series. If I happen to like a few songs by one singer, it’s a coincidence and doesn’t mean that I love everything.

For example, I was one of the many who liked The Fault in Our Stars. So when I went to my local bookshop, I picked up An Abundance of Katherines and Will Grayson, Will Grayson. But then I found that I didn’t like Katherines as much as I’d hoped to, and now I’m reluctant to read the other one.

I enjoyed The Princess Diaries – the books, the films and Royal Wedding. Someone happened to give me Queen of Babble, and did I love it as much? No. Partly because my brain was still busy associating Meg Cabot with Princess Diaries and comparing the two.

I consider both of these authors ‘favourites’, in that I like the things I’ve read and I’ll probably read more… but they’re not my “OMG THEY’VE RELEASED SOMETHING NEW!!!” favourites. I don’t think anyone is.

Am I alone?

Thoughts?

