First impression review of the first two episodes.

Is it good? I think so, and I say that as someone who doesn’t love detective shows.  I like them to be as different as possible, which this seems to manage, at least so far. ♥♥♥/5

Based on a Scandinavian book series, this is (shocker!) a detective series that takes a little House – he’s unhealthy, and it starts with him in a doctor’s office getting a physical before he’s allowed to be a detective again – a little Sherlock – being offensive without caring what people think, though it’s indexintentional rather than ignorant – and then a little Backstrom on top.

What does a little Backstrom mean? Being a slob.  Eating a lot.  Drinking a lot.  Often having a cigar in his mouth.  On the detective front, his quirk is getting into the mind of his suspects verbally – or anyone, such as this speech to his doctor: “I’m a Hindu. I believe after we die, we come back to life. So why am I a doctor? Why am I working so hard at keeping people alive? Because I realize that reincarnation is a load of crap. We’ve only got one life, and it’s meaningless. I’m terrified of death.”

Is it good? I think so, and I say that as someone who doesn’t love detective shows.  I like them to be as different as possible, which this seems to manage, at least based on the first two episodes.

 

One comment

Thoughts?

