Something Old, Something New, Something Borrowed, Something Blue

Happy New Year’s Eve!

And to finish the year out, here’s one book, one film and one TV show I didn’t review earlier in the year. 

Something Old: Book

The Secret Agent on Flight 101 (Hardy Boys #46)

A series that I’m aware I’ll never finish but is good for a fun light read when I need a breather from the “grown up” stuff.  For those who don’t know, the Hardy boys are Frank and Joe, the teenage sons of a famous detective who are also amateur detectives themselves.

This one’s been on my radar for a while for being Fenton-centric.  Not in the way that he takes over, or they even meet up with him to work together, but in the way that he gets kidnapped early on and the boys (and Chet!) have to look for him.   While also hunting down an evil magician and his smuggling ring, naturally.

It was a good story, but I did feel that there was rather a lot running around, almost to the point of it feeling like a bad fanfic.  “They went there, and then they went there, and the plane was leaving in forty eight hours for there!”  Though the irony of 500 plane rides in this book when a later one claims Joe doesn’t love flying isn’t lost on me.

My biggest issue with it, though, was that the UGLI (Undercover Global League of Informants) and SKOOL (Secret Knowledge of Organized Lawbreakers) stuff confused me.  Being coughslightlycough above the target age, I don’t know whether to be embarrassed or accept that older readers are more likely to try to read too much into things – if they’re really just supposed to be funny/punny acronyms, then that I get.

Can I suggest The Deadliest Dare, The House on the Cliff or While the Clock Ticked instead?

Something New (ish): Film

Rush

A feud between two Formula 1 racers wasn’t something I expected to like, but it surprised me.

Starring Chris Hemsworth (yes, Hemsworth) and Daniel Bruhl, it’s based on a true story of rivalry, racing, competition and love and is confirmation of just how dangerous racing can be, as if you needed to be told.

No violence in the conventional sense, but there are a couple of nasty accident/post-accident scenes, and the opening scenes are a bit dizzying even in 2D.

Films I’m looking forward to in 2014: The Hunger Games, Before I Go To Sleep, Veronica Mars, The Fault in Our Stars and The LEGO Movie.  (I hadn’t noticed they were almost all book adaptations.  Heh.)

Something Borrowed: TV Show

The Tomorrow People

Borrowed in that it’s a remake of a 1973 old British series by the same name.   I’ll let the beginning-of-every-episode voiceover introduce it to you:

My name is Stephen Jameson. I am one of the Tomorrow People, the next step in human evolution. They call our powers the three Ts: telepathy, telekinesis, and teleportation. There is a shadow war going on between us and Ultra, a secret organization that hunts us. The only way to keep my species from going extinct is to find my father, and the only way to do that is by working for the enemy.

So, yeah.  It’s a scifi about the next human species, with the three Ts and an inability to kill rather than Superman superpowers, and of course the people who don’t like the new species and would like to get rid of them.

It’s good, but it’s the kind of show that you need to give a few episodes if the first doesn’t completely sell you – episode 3 is a good one.  It’s also the kind where you wish the main character could be changed to the slightly more interesting secondary character, but he isn’t insufferable.

Something Blue:

Erm…

tardis_by_dalagar-d4p90c8

Happy New Year!

Thoughts?

