One big secret… 

When Lea became accidentally pregnant she decided that she would go it alone. Rodeo star Reilly wasn’t the sort of man who’d want to be tied down. But five years later she needs to tell him her secret… 

One tiny blessing… 

Learning he’s a daddy is bittersweet for Reilly, because his little girl is fighting to survive. Her only hope is a new brother or sister. Can he and Lea create a newborn miracle – and a future together?

A tale of last chances, last hopes and ‘unrequited’ love.

I’m going to break the cardinal rule of reviewing here and compare this to a book I haven’t actually read; My Sister’s Keeper.  In case you want to tell me I’m wrong, here’s how I understand it:

Two parents have a dying child.  Its last hope is for them to have another child to basically use as for spare parts.  The child grows up and sues them for it.

Their Newborn Gift is kind of a watered down version; all that’s needed is some cord blood, so the child won’t continue to be used – which might be worse, depending on how you look at it –  and the story stops soon after it’s born.  While the dying child gets as much page time as the parents, the focus is primarily on them – the desperate single mother who tracks down the one night stand who got her pregnant to get him to do it again, and the man who finds out he’s not just a father, but his daughter’s last hope.

Initial refusal leads to agreement in the form of a contract… hatred turns into love… and if you don’t like ‘will they/won’t they’ to be dragged out, then you might not like how long it lasts here.  Which is why I said ‘unrequited’ in the first paragraph; “I love him but he just wants a family! I love her but she only wants me for my babymaking skills!” would be a very brief version of this review.

To me it felt a little longer than it needed to be, although I understand the need to have him get used to the idea of being a father, slowly, rather than “oh, okay. I’m a father.  This woman I haven’t seen for five years needs me to make a baby? Sure!”

That said – and I didn’t actually find this out till later – this is a Mills & Boon book.  Apparently they’ve graduated from simple “girl meets tall dark and handsome and they have lots of sex” to more meaningful stories (without the sex), but it does explain all the appreciating of each other and the rather passionate kisses.

Thoughts?

